HOME > NATION > Article

Text Size




Japan Decides to Put 7 More Prefs. under Coronavirus Emergency

Japan Decides to Put 7 More Prefs. under Coronavirus Emergency

   Tokyo, Jan. 13 (Jiji Press)--The Japanese government on Wednesday decided to expand a novel coronavirus state of emergency it declared for Tokyo and three neighboring prefectures last week to cover seven more prefectures.
   The emergency, under which eating and drinking establishments are requested by prefectural governors to close by 8 p.m. to prevent a spread of the virus, is set to take effect on Thursday in the seven prefectures. Facilities that accept the requests will get up to 60,000 yen in aid a day while the names of noncompliant stores could be announced.
   The coronavirus emergency will thus cover 11 of Japan's 47 prefectures. The seven prefectures to be added are Osaka, Kyoto and Hyogo in the Kansai western region, Aichi and Gifu in the Tokai central region, Fukuoka in southwestern Japan and Tochigi in eastern Japan. They will join Tokyo, Saitama, Chiba and Kanagawa, already under the emergency.
   The state of emergency, based on the special measures law on the fight against the virus, began in the Tokyo metropolitan area on Friday. It is slated to run until Feb. 7 for all of the 11 prefectures.
   The government decided on the expansion at a meeting of its coronavirus response headquarters on Wednesday, judging that the seven prefectures are seeing a surge in new infection cases and that the local medical systems have been under strain.

To read a full story, please click here to find out how to subscribe.


Aomori Tourism Information


US Rejects China's Claims in South China Sea: Secretary of State Blinken
Toyota Becomes World's Top-Selling Automaker in 2020 for 1st Time in 5 Years
Pro Baseball: Tanaka to Return to Rakuten after Pitching for Yankees for 7 Yrs
Tokyo Daily Coronavirus Count More than Halves to 1,066 in 3 Weeks